Skip to Content

History of the Number 7 Draft Pick in the NBA

History of the Number 7 Draft Pick in the NBA

The NBA draft is a player’s best opportunity to be drafted into the league.  Since 1947, the NBA has drafted eligible players, typically from college to the league.  Below, we are going to review the history of the number 7 draft pick in the NBA.

What is the NBA Draft?

The NBA draft is an annual ceremony, in which NBA teams, through a lottery system, select eligible players from college and the international stage to join their teams.  College players who have completed all four years of their education are automatically eligible for the draft.

However, college players who have not completed all four years of their education, but are one-year removed from high school, must declare their eligibility for the draft.  In declaring their eligibility, these underclassmen will effectively give up their remaining college eligibility.

For international players, any player older than 22 years old are automatically eligible for the draft.  However, any international player younger than 22 years old must declare their eligibility.

How Does the Lottery System Work?

The NBA draft lottery system was revamped for the 2018 season.  Looking at these new rules, the 14 NBA teams which did not make the playoffs will be eligible for the first 14 picks in the draft.  Under the new system, the NBA Draft Lottery will ensure that the team with the worst overall record in the league will receive no worse than the fifth overall pick.

Similarly, in the new system, the three NBA teams with the worst regular-season records will each have a 14% chance of winning the lottery and the first overall pick.  Once the first four teams with the worst records have been selected, the remaining ten teams will continue to pick in inverse order of their regular-season record.

How Does the NBA Draft Work?

Going a bit deeper, and speaking only of the new system, the NBA draft will be televised on ESPN, who will air the results live.  Drawings will be conducted to determine the first four picks, with the remaining ten picks being doled out in inverse order of an NBA teams regular-season record.

The actual lottery procedure, however, takes place in a separate room before ESPN announces the results.  In this room, a member of the media, an NBA official, and a representative of the accounting firm Ernst & Young are present to ensure no foul play or tampering with the machine.

In this separate room, fourteen ping-pong balls numbered 1-14 will be placed in the lottery machine.  The lottery machine used by the NBA is manufactured by Smart Play Company.  This company also weighs, measures, and certifies the ping-pong balls before the drawing.

There are 1,001 possible combinations when four balls are drawn out of 14, without regard to their order of selection.  Before the lottery, 1,000 of those 1,001 combinations will be assigned to the 14 participating NBA teams.

Once all 14 balls have been placed into the machine, they will be mixed for 20-seconds before the first ball is removed.  Similarly, the balls will be mixed for another 10-seconds before the second ball is drawn.  Again, the machine will be mixed for another 10-seconds for both the third and fourth picks.

Full History of all 7th Overall NBA Draft Picks

Jonathan KumingaGolden State WarriorsIgnite (G League)2021
Killian HayesDetroit PistonsRatiopharm Ulm (Germany)2020
Coby WhiteChicago BullsNorth Carolina2019
Wendell Carter Jr.Chicago BullsWest Virginia2018
Lauri MarkkanenMinnesota TimberwolvesArizona2017
Jamal MurrayDenver NuggetsKentucky2016
Emmanuel MudiayDenver NuggetsGuangdong Southern Tigers (China)2015
Julius RandleLos Angeles LakersKentucky2014
Ben McLemoreSacramento KingsKansas2013
Harrison BarnesGolden State WarriorsNorth Carolina2012
Bismack BiyomboSacramento KingsBaloncesto Fuenlabrada (Spain)2011
Greg MonroeDetroit PistonsGeorgetown2010
Stephen CurryGolden State WarriorsDavidson2009
Eric GordonLos Angeles ClippersIndiana2008
Corey BrewerMinnesota TimberwolvesFlorida2007
Randy FoyeBoston CelticsVillanova2006
Charlie VillanuevaToronto RaptorsConnecticut2005
Luol DengPhoenix SunsDuke2004
Kirk HinrichChicago BullsKansas2003
NeneNew York KnicksCR Vasco da Gama (Brazil)2002
Eddie GriffinNew Jersey NetsSeton Hall2001
Chris MihmChicago BullsTexas2000
Richard HamiltonWashington WizardsConnecticut1999
Jason WilliamsSacramento KingsFlorida1998
Tim ThomasNew Jersey NetsVillanova1997
Lorenzen WrightLos Angeles ClippersMemphis1996
Damon StoudamireToronto RaptorsArizona1995
Lamond MurrayLos Angeles ClippersCalifornia1994
Bobby HurleySacramento KingsDuke1993
Walt WilliamsSacramento KingsMaryland1992
Luc LongleyMinnesota TimberwolvesNew Mexico1991
Lionel SimmonsSacramento KingsLa Salle1990
George McCloudIndiana PacersFlorida State1989
Tim PerryPhoenix SunsTemple1988
Kevin JohnsonCleveland CavaliersCalifornia1987
Roy TarpleyDallas MavericksMichigan1986
Chris MullinGolden State WarriorsSt. John’s (NY)1985
Alvin RobertsonSan Antonio SpursArkansas1984
Thurl BaileyUtah JazzNorth Carolina State1983
Quintin DaileyChicago BullsSan Francisco1982
Steve JohnsonKansas City KingsOregon State1981
Mike GminskiNew Jersey NetsDuke1980
Vinnie JohnsonSeattle SuperSonicsBaylor1979
Ron BrewerPortland Trail BlazersArkansas1978
Bernard KingNew Jersey NetsTennessee1977
Quinn BucknerMilwaukee BucksIndiana1976
Rich KelleyNew Orleans JazzStanford1975
Tom HendersonAtlanta HawksHawaii1974
Ron BehagenKansas City-Omaha KingsMinnesota1973
Isaac StallworthSeattle SuperSonicsKansas1972
Cliff MeelyHouston RocketsColorado1971
John JohnsonCleveland CavaliersIowa1970
Bob PortmanSan Francisco WarriorsCreighton1969
Charlie PaulkMilwaukee BucksNortheastern State1968
Pat RileySan Diego RocketsKentucky1967
Jerry ChambersLos Angeles LakersUtah1966
Nate BowmanCincinnati RoyalsWichita State1965
Mel CountsBoston CelticsOregon State1964
Roger StricklandLos Angeles LakersJacksonville1963
John HavlicekBoston CelticsOhio State1962
Tom MescheryPhiladelphia WarriorsSt. Mary’s (CA)1961
Al BungePhiladelphia WarriorsMaryland1960
Tom RobitailleDetroit PistonsRice1959
Bennie SwainBoston CelticsTexas Southern1958
George H. Bon SalleSyracuse NationalsIllinois1957
Hal LearPhiladelphia WarriorsTemple1956
Jack StephensSt. Louis HawksNotre Dame1955
Tom MarshallRochester RoyalsWestern Kentucky1954
Jim FritscheMinneapolis LakersHamline1953
Bob LochmuellerSyracuse NationalsLouisville1952
Ernie BarrettBoston CelticsKansas State1951
George YardleyFt. Wayne Zollner PistonsStanford1950
Dick McGuireNew York KnicksSt. John’s (NY)1949
Robert GaleSt. Louis BombersCornell1948
Jack UndermanSt. Louis BombersOhio State1947